Prof Montecillo joins GeneSoc Outstanding Teacher Awardee Pool

By Rency Raquid (Riboswitch)

Photo Courtesy: Institute of Biological Sciences - UPLB

Assistant Professor Andrew Montecillo officially joins the mob of The UPLB Genetics Society after being lauded with the Outstanding Teacher Award (OTA) for Biological Sciences (Junior Category) at the Makiling Ballroom Hall, Student Union Building, UPLB, last March 4. IBS grabbed the same award for Senior Category with Dr. Vachel Gay Paller, a Professor at the Animal Biology Division and former Deputy Director of the Institute.

Keeping the streak

Montecillo, nominated by IBS and CAS, bested other shortlisted candidates from different colleges and institutes of the university considered in biological science field namely, College of Agriculture, College of Human Ecology, College of Forestry, College of Veterinary Medicine, and School of Environmental Science and Management.

UPLB OTA is annually given to deserving faculty members as part of the foundation celebration of the university. Other categories include Physical and Social Sciences. The screening process starts at nomination from the institute to the college level. Respective colleges will then forward their nominees to the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (OVCAA) that shall form the Screening Committee for each category. This committee shall forward their shortlisted nominees to the UPLB Screening Committee for final evaluation. Criteria for judging include student and peer evaluations, teaching materials, and actual classroom management and teaching skills.

Passion for teaching and learning

Montecillo is a Professor of the Microbiology Division of the Institute of Biological Sciences (IBS) where he is teaching introductory microbiology, microbial identification techniques, and microbial genetics.

It’s in the genes

Upholding the legacy of passion and excellence, Montecillo is the newest addition to GeneSoc pool of outstanding teacher awardees. Other GeneSoc awardees in UPLB include Dr. Merlyn Mendioro, IBS director and current Senior Adviser of the organizaton, Dr. Ma. Genaleen Diaz (F1), Prof. Neilyn Ona-Villa (Polytenes), and Mr. Jickerson Lado (Integrons). Prof. Juanaldo Mantiquilla (Replicons), professor at UP Mindanao, also received an equivalent Gawad Tsanselor award.