IBS Profs among the awardees at NAST PHL 37th ASM

by Rency Raquid (Riboswitch)

Photo: National Academy of Science and Technology
(NAST), Philippines Facebook Page
Professors from the Institute of Biological Sciences (IBS) bagged several awards at the National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines (NAST-PHL)  37th Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) held last June 8-9, 2015 at Manila Hotel.

Bearing the theme: “The Challenges of Non-Communicable Diseases (NCDs): Responding Through Multisectoral Action”, the annual activity focused on non-transmittable diseases and the role of agricultural, social, biological, mathematical, physical, and engineering sciences in its prevention and control.

The pre-conference on July 8 featured plenary sessions conducted by academicians and scientists from different institutions. Among them are Dr. Angel Alcala (National Scientist) and Dr. Rhodora Azanza who focused on toxic marine organisms; Dr. Filemon A. Uriarte, Jr on waste prevention and waste-to-energy technologies; Dr. Ruben Villareal on consumption of vegetables; Dr. Susan Gallardo and Dr. Gerardo Parco for the discussions on the effectiveness of government policies on the prevention of non-communicable diseases; Dr. Evangeline Santiago on the health effects of chemical pollutants; Dr. Ma. Concepcion Lizada on the importance of food security, dietary diversity and; Presidential Adviser, Sec. Nereus Acosta on the current condition of watersheds and rivers contaminated by industrial waste.

The role of new technologies like stem cells (Dr. Beatrice Jayme-Tiangco)  and nutriceuticals (Jamie Z. Galvez-Tan) in management of NCDs, as well as the interaction of CDs and NCDs (National Scientist Ernesto Domingo) were discussed on the technical sessions of ASM (day 2).

IBS, UPLB Awardees

The Outstanding Young Scientists (OYS) award is given to young Filipino scientists (must not be 41 years old within January to December in the year of the award) who have made significant contributions to science and technology(1). Dr. Aimee Lynn Barrion-Dupo of Environmental Biology Division, IBS received the Outstanding Young Scientist Award for Entomology.

Dr. Aimee Lynn Barrion-Dupo receiving the OYS for Entomology award
during the 37th ASM Awarding and Closing Ceremonies.
Photo: National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST), Philippines Facebook Page
Prof. Rose Ann Franco of Microbiology Division received the NAST Talent Search Special Citation for Medical Sciences. The NAST Talent Search for Young Scientist is a project of the Academy that encourages young people (must not be more than 35 years old within January to December in the year of the award) to pursue a career in science(1).

Meanwhile, Dr. Milagrosa Martinez-Goss, Prof. Nerissa Torreta and Prof. June Owen Nacorda received the Outstanding Scientific Paper Award. The said award is given annually to recognize outstanding scientific papers published in Philippine scientific or technical journals within five years preceding the award(1).

Other professors who were also present in the event were Dr. Merlyn Mendioro, Dr. Rita Laude, Dr. Nina Cadiz, Dr. Mary Ann Torio, Dr. Charinna Gracia Banaay, Prof. Ivy Amor Lambio, Prof. Mark Anthony Rabena, Prof. Faith Maranan, Prof. Joshua Campang, and Prof. Therese Honrade.