IBS holds testimonials for Class of 2015

by Merc Emil Matienzo (Riboswitch)

The Institute of Biological Sciences (IBS), UPLB conducted this year’s testimonial ceremony for graduating undergraduate (BS Biology, BS MST Major in Biology), and graduate students last Friday, July 03, 2015 at IBS Lecture Hall Main.

The event was organized by IBS Socials Committee in cooperation with the UP Cell Biological Society (UP CELLS) and The UPLB Genetics Society (GeneSoc); hosted by Prof. Rose Ann G. Franco and Prof. John Daniel P. Ong from Microbiology Division.

Among this year’s 137 BS BIO fresh graduates, 20 marched with honors, headed by Jeremiah V. Reyes (Ecology).  Reyes also delivered an inspirational message to the graduates in the latter part of the program.

BS Biology Class of 2015 with Latin honors

The ceremony started with the doxology and Philippine National Anthem led by UP Cell Biological Society followed by the welcome remarks addressed by IBS Officer-In-Charge (OIC) Director Dr. Merlyn S. Mendioro.

Dr. Mendioro, pointing out that the BS Biology program in UPLB is the best in the entire UP System, reminded the graduates to never forget honor and excellence wherever they go.

Dr. Felino P. Lansigan, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, also delivered an inspirational message emphasizing that being an “Iskolar” is not just a privilege but also a responsibility.

BS Biology Class of 2015 was introduced together with the Faculty and Staff per division which served as the main highlight of the event. An intermission number by The UPLB Genetics Society’s ‘The Plasmids’ followed before the special awards were given to selected BSBIO students.

Special awards which included Dr. Drina Sta. Iglesia Outstanding BS Thesis, IBS Gawad Karangalan in Ecology and Field Biology, and Red Cross Youth Voluntary and Humanitarian Service Award were given to students whose efforts in their field of specialization were remarkably exceptional.

The Dr. Drina Outstanding BS Thesis awardees include John Ruben C. Valeza (Zoology), Christian C. Lucañas (Ecology), Maria Emilia Ruth V. Eusebio (Genetics), Vanessa Gail L. Borja (Cell and Molecular Biology), Ann Clarisse SV. Siababa (Microbiology), Jonard C. Valdoz (Plant Biology), and Angela Marie M. Villareal (Systematics). Dr. Drina Sta. Iglesia is a charter member of The UPLB Genetics Society.

The IBS Gawad Karangalan in Ecology and Field Biology was awarded to six students out of thirteen nominees who received P10,000.00, P6,000.00, and P4,000.00 in cash and plaques of recognition for first, second, and third places respectively.  The recipients were Christian C. Lucañas (1st Place), Joseph B. Rasalan (2nd Place), and Jeremiah V. Reyes and Whizvir O. Gustilo (3rd Place).

A response from a parent, Mr. Resty L. Hernandez and closing remarks by Dr. Lucille C. Villegas, OIC Deputy Director of the Institute, concluded the IBS testimonials for BSBIO Class of 2015.

‘UP Naming Mahal’ sang by The Plasmids of GeneSoc formally ended the program.

GeneSoc Class of 2015

The UPLB Genetics Society Class of 2015

A total of 26 GeneSoc members marched their way to the platform of success yesterday as the 43rd UPLB Commencement Exercises pushed through, despite the partial collapse of the dome caused by heavy rain hours before the graduation ceremony started.

The UPLB Genetics Society Class of 2015 are Veronica Grace Adan (BSBIO, Microbiology), Chembie Almazar (BSBIO, Genetics), Hannah Grace Apondar (BSMST, Biology), Ben Henry Baang (BSBIO, Genetics), Nerissa Joyce Bea (BSBIO, Genetics), Donnalyn Biel (BSMST, Biology), Princess Collin Borromeo (BSBIO, Zoology), Jose Capuz IV (BSBIO, Genetics), Zared Patricia de Padua (BSBIO, Microbiology), Maria Quita Guevarra (BSBIO, Cell & Molecular Biology), Precious Guevarra (BSABT, Food Biotechnology) Alissa Carol Ibarra (BSABT, Crop Biotechnology), Irene Joan Madridano (BSBIO, Genetics), Kyla Grace Magno (BSBIO, Microbiology), Mary Abigail Malabanan (BSBIO, Genetics), Jansel Reem Marteja (BSBIO, Genetics), Richelle Mojares (BSBIO, Cell & Molecular Biology), Ian Christine Oca (BSBIO, Zoology), Kraniel Roda Papera (BSABT, Animal Biotechnology), Gessa Marie Ramos (BS Nutrition), Jemaureen Fe Refuerzo (BSBIO, Microbiology), John Paolo Rodil (BSBIO, Zoology), Rea Camille Ruiz (BSBIO, Zoology), Charlene Mae Teodoro (BSBIO, Genetics), Juan Rodrigo Vera Cruz (BSA, Agronomy) and Chino James Sison (BS Chemical Engineering).

In his speech, Class Valedictorian Paoloregel B. Samonte (BS Development Communication) challenged the graduates, who are now degree holders of the premier university in the country, to take part in promoting equality and fight all gender-related abuses not just for the LGBT Community but for everyone involved.

“For what good is a UP Diploma if we, UP graduates, don't stand up for equality?” Samonte said.#